KAFC Legislative Update

KAFC Bill Tracker At Bottom Of Page

KAFC Legislative Update – December 27, 2021

The Kentucky General Assembly ended on April 1 for a 10-day veto recess after passing a 2-year state budget including hundreds of millions of dollars to fully fund state pensions. The governor now has until the end of the day on April 11 to sign the bills, let them become law without his signature or issue vetoes. Lawmakers will have an opportunity to override any vetoes when the General Assembly reconvenes on April 13-14 for the final two days of the session.
for The KAFC Legislative Committee spent numerous hours working to push for support and, often more importantly, to block bills which could harm the fire service. We provided a report to the KAFC Executive Board and the full body of members in attendance, on February 25th, during the Bryant Stiles Officers School in Owensboro.

Some of our best work was conducted during the many hours of work with Chief Wayne Briscoe on the front lines in Frankfort. With numerous organizations to combat, and ultimately come to agreements, to create HB 777 in a form which could be supported by all entities that were affected. This Coalition led by KLC was able to rework previous attempts on HB 777 (HB296) which in short would restructure KBEMS, make changes to CON process, and provide a review task force to evaluate the challenges with EMS in the Commonwealth. This coalition continued with support of SB 209 getting it passed and sent to the Governor’s desk which will help CERS members increase benefit options.

All together the session was successful on many fronts for the fire service. We now can sit back and see what finalizes over the following days for the Governor and the remaining days of the session for 2022. Thank you for all the support and communication with myself, the legislative committee, and most importantly reaching out to your legislators.

Adam C Jones,
KAFC Legislative Agent

2022 KAFC Legislative Committee

Committee Chair – KAFC Legislative Agent, David Howser – St. Matthews Fire/EMS dhowser@stmatthewsfd.com
KAFC President, Cathy Rigney – Winchester Fire/EMS crigney@roadrunner.com
Wayne Briscoe – Frankfort Fire/EMS – wbriscoe@frankfort.ky.gov
Michael Brown – Prestonsburg Fire Department – pfd200@yahoo.com
Steve Futrell – Hopkinsville Fire/EMS – sfutrell@hopkinsvilleky.us
Steve Kyle – Paducah Fire Department – skyle@paducahky.gov
Rick Millikan – Morganfield Fire Department – rmillikan@morganfieldfd.com
Nathan Mulvey – Fern Creek Fire/EMS – nmulvey@ferncreekfire.com
Rob Rothenburger – Shelbyville Fire Department – sfd@shelbyvillefirerescue.com